Remembering the Life of a Gamer

10401986_10207936509441765_3763950777436396812_nLast March, I lost a beloved friend by the name of Logan Masterson. This week marks the first anniversary of his passing.

In the grand scheme of things, Logan was only in my life for an incredibly short time. That being said, he undoubtedly left a strong mark upon it. He pushed me to start a particular passion project that I I hope to finish by the end of the year. He was there to help me when I felt the insufferable dick named Depression that lurks within the back of my head was trying to break me. He was also one of the best players I ever had at my table, always engaged, doing everything he could to create an interesting story, and always excited to play a new game. I was always happy to run a game for a group if I knew he’d be there.

Honestly, I don’t know where I’d be if I had never met this magnificent bastard with a beard that was almost as big as his heart two years ago.

I just wanted to take a moment to remember Logan, celebrating the friend that left such an impression upon me, one that I wish I could have spent more time with, but happy to have had him in my life at all. We all have those people who are gone, but we wish they could come back, even if it was just for another day, another hour, or another minute. Logan’s that friend for me. I wish he could come back for just one more session at the table, get one more chance to roll some dice with him, and tell a story we’d both remember.

I miss you, Logan. I know I’m not the only one. I will never forget you.

One thought on “Remembering the Life of a Gamer

  1. Something I came to realize at his memorial was that he’s still teaching us things, and still loving us from beyond through the others that he touched while he was with us. I still feel his love and his wisdom trickling into my life, reading this was no exception.

    Like

Leave a Reply

